METROPOLITAN WATER RECLAMATION DISTRICT of GREATER CHICAGO R E S O L U T I O N

SPONSORED by the BOARD of COMMISSIONERS ACKNOWLEDGING the

130th ANNIVERSARY of the INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD of ELECTRICAL WORKERS

WHEREAS, on November 21, 1891, ten local union delegates representing 286 members met in St. Louis, Missouri to discuss formation of a national union of electrical workers. They named the newly founded organization the National

Brotherhood of Electrical Workers; and

WHEREAS, in 1899, with the inclusion of Canadian electrical workers into the membership, the union changed its name to the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW); and

WHEREAS, having worked together

for more than 100 years, the IBEW and the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (District) have a well-respected partnership that has continued to thrive; and

WHEREAS, safe working environments are critical to preserving and improving our quality of life, and the District is committed to providing the greatest possible protection for all of its employees; and

WHEREAS, the membership of the IBEW has grown to approximately 775,000 workers since its



creation in 1891. Throughout the years, the IBEW has successfully advocated for improved working conditions, equitable wages, and increased benefits for its members while simultaneously maintaining

job security in this vital and dynamic sector of industry; and

WHEREAS, the District commends the progressive leadership of the IBEW and wishes it continued progress and prosperity; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, on behalf of ourselves and our staff, do hereby acknowledge the 130th anniversary of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the permanent Record of Proceedings of the Board of Commissioners of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago and that a copy of same, suitably engrossed, be presented to the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.

DATED THIS 20th DAY of JANUARY, 2022.

BOARD of COMMISSIONERS

KARI K. STEELE PRESIDENT CAMERON DAVIS CHAKENA D. PERRY BARBARA J. McGOWAN VICE PRESIDENT KIMBERLY DU BUCLET EIRA L. CORRAL SEPÚLVEDA

MARCELINO GARCIA CHAIRMAN OF FINANCE JOSINA MORITA MARIYANA T. SPYROPOULOS